Clinical network

The Vaccine Research Center was formally established in 2004. However, vaccine trials have been carried out at the University of Tampere since 1979, and in accordance with Good Clinical Practice (GCP) since 1991. All research projects are carried out in accordance with the GCP and the legislation, regulations and EU Directives that apply to the clinical trials of pharmaceuticals.

Our competent, experienced and dedicated personnel guarantee that the research data we produce are of the highest quality. The trials in Finland are approved either by the Finnish Medicines Agency (Fimea), the National Committee on Medical Research Ethics (TUKIJA) or the local Ethics Committee.

The Center currently operates a network of ten regional vaccine research clinics whose staff include professional study nurses, medical laboratory technologists and investigators. The network of clinics enables the Center to carry out extensive nation-wide trials and to offer a robust contribution to large multinational studies. Leading international vaccine manufacturers have a high opinion of the Center as a partner.

Investigators

Ilkka Seppä Physician Coordinator, Investigator ilkka.seppa@tuni.fi +358 50 443 7247
Anna-Maija Hanni Investigator anna-maija.hanni@tuni.fi +358 50 3182 504
Benita Ukkonen Investigator benita.ukkonen@tuni.fi +358 50 437 7211
Hanna Branders Investigator hanna.branders@tuni.fi +358 040 190 4119
Jukka Markkula tutkijalääkäri jukka.markkula@tuni.fi +358 50 443 7254
Lauri Peltonen Investigator lauri.peltonen@tuni.fi +358 50 318 2634
Marjaana Sipilä Investigator marjaana.sipila@tuni.fi +358 50 3182 156
Outi Laajalahti Investigator outi.laajalahti@tuni.fi +358 50 4681813
Pauliina Paavola Investigator pauliina.paavola@tuni.fi +358 40 190 4121
Satu Kokko Investigator satu.kokko@tuni.fi +358 50 433 6253
Sini Erme Investigator sini.erme@tuni.fi +358 50 318 2156
Susanna Öhman Investigator susanna.ohman@tuni.fi + 358 50 363 5161
Hanna Karhusaari Investigator hanna.karhusaari@tuni.fi +358 50 437 7422
Susanna Koski Investigator susanna.s.koski@tuni.fi +358 50 560 4533
Markus Haapanen Investigator markus.haapanen@tuni.fi +358 50 190 4115
Marjukka Aro-Martikainen Investigator marjukka.aro-martikainen@tuni.fi +358 50 535 7048
Anna Seppä Investigator anna.seppa@tuni.fi +358 50 473 4821
Riikka Ollikainen Investigator riikka.ollikainen@tuni.fi +358 50 477 0790
Liisa Vehmanen Investigator liisa.vehmanen@tuni.fi +358 50 475 0233